•  
FenlandRunner
Like this a lot.
Apr 2019
10:13pm, 11 Apr 2019
12,220 posts
  •  
Rosehip
I have a whistle in my handbag, bumbag, v"race" vest, car door pocket, first aid kit and on my lanyard with work keys and ID - that's as much because I work in a school and as a lifeguard as any other reason - but yes I think I'm at least as likely to have a whistle as a working mobile - they don't have to get a signal or have a working battery!
Apr 2019
10:20pm, 11 Apr 2019
3,230 posts
  •  
mr d
I had a anaphylatic shock on a trail run 5 years ago.

Used the Road ID app for ages afterwards at insistence of OH, but if you haven't got phone signal it doesn't work and Trail and Fell running generally take you out of coverage.
Apr 2019
10:20pm, 11 Apr 2019
15,013 posts
  •  
Angus Clydesdale
Self-sufficient me. Whistle, waterproof (top-half at least), hat & gloves & buff. Always. Even when walking the dog on the beach because the beaches up here are fairly quiet.

There’s plenty of folks that’ll live by the maxim that the more kit you carry the more likely you are to need it, but I think carrying some basic self-help items is prudent.
Apr 2019
10:25pm, 11 Apr 2019
230 posts
  •  
Turtlemama
I only tend to run locally but live in the sticks with patchy mobile service. If TP is at home I do him the courtesy of letting him know a rough route, but mostly I run alone and when TP is at work. Never more than a mile or so from a road/track/ house though. Round here (rural Warwickshire) I doubt many people would recognise a whistle distress signal anyway.

I used to hillwalk alone a fair bit in the Lakes/Peak/Snowdonia before being mama to the turtle. I never knew where I'd go until I decided at path junctions, often being led by the weather and available time. Always had map/compass/whistle/bivi bag just in case.
Apr 2019
9:49am, 12 Apr 2019
1,740 posts
  •  
Lesley C