New to the running world!

1 watcher
Jul 2015
1:26pm, 21 Jul 2015
First-time poster!!
  •  
StueyOfficial
Hello

I am new to the running world. I decided to take part in Mudnificent 7 which is taking place on 1 August but then realised I haven't actually done any running before. To try and do some last minute prep I've downloaded the Coach to 5K app! I've only done 2 days but really enjoying it so far. This is all new to me though so any tips on training and general fitness would be very much appreciated.
Jul 2015
1:33pm, 21 Jul 2015
16,206 posts
  •  
fetcheveryone
Welcome to Fetch Stuey :-)

The C25K is great - it's a nice way to build up to 5k without doing too much too soon. Not quite sure how that translates into running 7k in mud in 10 days time, but it's a good start :-)
Jul 2015
2:12pm, 21 Jul 2015
10,556 posts
  •  
Dvorak
Welcome Stuey :-)

Do it, but done overdo it. If it hurts, stop. If it really hurts, rest it. If it's just uncomfortable keep going, training often feels like that ;-)
Jul 2015
2:22pm, 21 Jul 2015
7 posts
  •  
gooders_gold
Hi there,

Everyone is new at some point and it's good to take a plunge and work out were you're at. Mud runs are good fun and tend not to be done at such a pace as road races so just enjoy it and take on the scenery and get a bit of banter on.

As it's an obstacle race there's lots of breaks in between running and everyone helps each other out over tricky obstacles. There's a huge mud run community out there doing them every week with a huge range of ability and fitness.

Enjoy!
Jul 2015
3:09pm, 21 Jul 2015
16,207 posts
  •  
fetcheveryone
Nice post GG - welcome to FE :-)

(And you Dvorak, but without the second bit)
Jul 2015
3:12pm, 21 Jul 2015
26,071 posts
  •  
Old Croc
Weclome to Fetch

am guessing that 1 Aug may be a tad close for any training to make that much difference - look at that day as a starting point and build from there.

oh and enjoy
Jul 2015
3:20pm, 21 Jul 2015
2 posts
  •  
StueyOfficial