Any Board Games Fans?

47 watchers
Feb 2022
4:57pm, 8 Feb 2022
11 posts
  •  
Stander
I'm losing the will to live with these. I ventured into miniature games very late in life because I can't paint.

It's something I've been working on for a couple of years now. I think I'm getting there slowly.

This is for A Song of Ice and Fire.
Feb 2022
4:58pm, 8 Feb 2022
12 posts
  •  
Stander
And the backside:-

Feb 2022
4:59pm, 8 Feb 2022
13 posts
  •  
Stander
They are taking me forever to do - hence the losing the will to live comment.
Feb 2022
9:14pm, 8 Feb 2022
24,289 posts
  •  
Angus Clydesdale
That looks really good. Do you use brush or air brush?
Feb 2022
9:43pm, 8 Feb 2022
14 posts
  •  
Stander
Brush.

I don’t own an air brush.
Feb 2022
10:42pm, 8 Feb 2022
24,290 posts
  •  
Angus Clydesdale
A lot of years ago I had a mate who painted 1:72 scale model aircraft with an air brush. I was amazed at the fine detail he was able to create.
Feb 2022
9:10am, 9 Feb 2022
893 posts
  •  
The Mussile
Stander It took me many years to get to a standard I am happy with. I tend to follow a lot of youtube channels like Squidmar, MS_paints and Lyla Mev for tips and just keep practicing. I don't paint specifically for games (except Warhammer Underworlds) just as a way to relax though

You paint to a good standard already based on those pictures. I dont know whether its just the photo quality but to my very amateur eye it looks like you could do with thinning your paint a bit more. The colours are also a bit flat and could do with more contrast. You could try using black lining technique between the riders legs and the saddle cloth for example.