New York Marathon

22 watchers
May 2007
1:18pm, 18 May 2007
0 posts
  •  
jolguk
I've been happy with 2:09, but as I've said, if you're taking a non-runner, don't book for them through 2:09 as it's a rip-off.

More annoyingly, the results of the international ballot are in, and neither my husband or any of the 6 other friends who applied have got in. Boo hiss. Just as well I've paid my way in.
May 2007
1:39pm, 18 May 2007
0 posts
  •  
B.B.
2.09 did my trip when i ran for charity in 2005. It was fine
May 2007
1:43pm, 18 May 2007
0 posts
  •  
Girlie
I'm booked with Sports Tours, who seem fine so far, but as it's my first time can't compare the 2.
May 2007
2:56pm, 18 May 2007
0 posts
  •  
I'm doing it this year. It'll be my first marathon & I've heard nowt but good stuff about it. I too have booked through STI. Was told best way to get an entry place was to go through tour company. STI appeared to do the better deal & we're more flexible re flight times etc. I'm running in aid of The Evelina Childrens hospital. www.justgiving.com/jasoncross .
May 2007
7:16pm, 27 May 2007
0 posts
  •  
GAZGIB
Some advice for NYM 1st timers this year, take plenty of throw away clothing to the race. Last year they closed the Verrazano narrows bridge at about 6:30. So all the coaches had to be over it and on to Staten Island at about 6. Then apart from a couple of tents, that filled up very quickly, there was no shelter from the weather and NY in November can be pretty cold, especially if you are sitting around waiting for 4 hours before the start at 10:30. The Staten island ferries run a bit later I think. This was my only complaint about the NYM, everything else about it is awesome. Don't worry about the undulation near central park the crowds are at ther best by that point and you don't think about it. BTW 'Rumours' Irish bar on 8th and 52nd (i think) is a great place to chill out.
May 2007
7:24pm, 27 May 2007
0 posts
  •  
Girlie