5k to 10k advice please

5 watchers
Jul 2016
6:58am, 19 Jul 2016
First-time poster!!
  •  
ElaineJ
Morning

I'm a newbie to running - just completed C25k and have now started 5k to 10k plan. I'm a real plodder, with my current best pace at 14:31.

My next session is introducing a 3 minute tempo run. Firstly, what is a tempo run? I'm guessing it's where I need to alternate my speed? If that's the case, what sort of pace, should I ideally be looking at running, during this part of the session?

Many thanks in advance

Elaine
Jul 2016
7:06am, 19 Jul 2016
1,028 posts
  •  
Silvershadow
Hi Elaine, welcome to Fetch.
A tempo run is one that is a bit faster than your usual pace but that you can keep going for the interval time or distance without fading. Personally I wouldn't worry about the speed, run by feel.
Jul 2016
7:09am, 19 Jul 2016
21,278 posts
  •  
HellsBells
What SilverShadow said.
A lot of adaptation goes on when you first start running or increasing distance, don't worry about tempo runs, fartleks, intervals or any other sort of speed work yet. What matters now is time on your feet and staying uninjured. Once you're comfortable running 10k at a pace that is conversational, then you might think about introducing speed
Jul 2016
7:55am, 19 Jul 2016
6,643 posts
  •  
lammo
Hi welcome to Fetch

What they said, just keep getting out there, you'll be amazed at the progress consistent training brings.

Don't risk injury with speed work just yet.
Jul 2016
8:09am, 19 Jul 2016
962 posts
  •  
westmoors
Hi Elaine and welcome to Fetch.

A tempo run should be "comfortably hard". The purpose of the run is to improve your "lactate threshold" i.e. the effort level at which your body can no longer eliminate the lactate at the rate it is produced. It is not all out, but a pace that you should be able to sustain for about an hour.