Problem with Energy Gels

3 watchers
Sep 2015
11:22am, 4 Sep 2015
1,384 posts
  •  
Steampunk seratonin
I had a weird experience yesterday.
I am 6 weeks into a HM training schedule and my session yesterday was: 7 miles with 3 x 1600 @ 8.10 with 800m jogs.
I had a weetabix for breakfast and a fruit juice. At 10.30 I ate a Nature Valley bar and a satsuma. A couple of cups of tea at various times.
At 1300, I changed, stretched mobilised the garmin, and just before setting off I popped Nectar Energy Gel.
During my warm up mile, I experienced heart palpitations which lasted maybe a minute or so. I did not stop but I was not running particularly fast ( 10.23 pace).

The only other time I have had this was back in 2012 when I was 90 minutes into Leicester HM and popped a gel (though I think that was a Torq). I did not finish well and ended up doing the race in 2:11.

I have been using Nectar for three or four years and have had no problems. I tend to use them late into long runs or like yesterday just before a run when I know that the session is going to be challenging and want to give myself a boost. The session yesterday was generally okay and my splits were:

Warm up - 1 mile = 10.23,

warm up - 0.5 mile = 4.51,

Interval 1 - 1 mile = 8.00,
Jog - 500 metres = 4.50,

Interval 2 - 1 mile = 8.01,

Jog - 500 metres = 5.06,

Interval 3 - 1 mile = 8.34,

Jog - 500 metres 5.14,

Cool down - 1 mile 10.36,

Cool down - 0.2 mile = 2.16

Pretty much on target, so it did not affect my overall performance.
Any one else had a problem like this with energy gels? Should I stop using them if it gives me a heart palpitation?
Sep 2015
11:29am, 4 Sep 2015
22,989 posts
  •  
Fleece and Dust
Do they have caffeine in them?
Sep 2015
11:45am, 4 Sep 2015
1,386 posts
  •  
Steampunk seratonin
I don't think so.
Sep 2015
11:52am, 4 Sep 2015
1,140 posts
  •  
Spleen