Nutrition & Pre Race Food

5 watchers
Apr 2013
11:44am, 24 Apr 2013
27 posts
  •  
Harrier_PED
Hi,

I always seem to struggle on my long runs and marathons in the later stages, nutrition has always been something I'm not very good with and i struggle to eat prior to running, instead i tend to load up with sports drinks or carb rich drinks instead.
I'm wondering what other folk do?
1) Pre training (LSR) food and how long before?
2) Pre marathon food and how long before?
3) Best foods in general to stock up prior to racing?

I'm also looking at Beetroot juice and a option to supplement my diet, thoughts on this would also be welcome.

Many Thanks.
Apr 2013
12:12pm, 24 Apr 2013
584 posts
  •  
Geprig
These are all very sensible questions.

Over the years I have learnt that there are as many answers to them as people that yu ask.

I know people than can race an ultra on an empty stomach and others who can't get out of bed without a bowl of porridge.

My advice would be

1) look at the standard advice from people like Matt Fitzgerald
2) talk to people with experience of the kind of event you want to prepare for to get an idea of the possible options
3) try out different options and see what works bests for you.

Personally I'm a big supporter of beetroot juice as an aid to speed. I don't really like the taste so I dilute it with water. I drink about 250ml per day in the week before target races. For me the effects kick in pretty quick and there's no evidence that they persist once I stop. I don't use it when I'm doing training because otherwise it makes the training easier and that defeats the reason for doing it.
Apr 2013
10:07am, 25 Apr 2013
4,696 posts
  •  
Peacey
I've been thinking about beetroot juice as an option, I'd be interested to see how this helps.
Apr 2013
10:14am, 25 Apr 2013
12,653 posts
  •  
fetcheveryone