DeeGee
Slight change of subject. Still relevant. this is interesting:

londoncyclist.co.uk
Nov 2012
10:08am, 9 Nov 2012
14,059 posts
  •  
JohnnyO
I think V'rap has hit the nail on the head. The problem is that the whole debate becomes so polarised. Most cyclists are reasonable, though most have probably done something a bit unpredictable and possibly illegal. Similarly most drivers have been guilty of going too fast or leaping out from a side road into the path of a cyclist they didn't see- but few of them are doing it intentionally. Unfortunately the arguments that follow always consist of a series of incensed anecdotes describing activities that most of us would agree were wrong (on both sides).
I have no experience of cycling in one of the european utopias, but I imagine the main reason they work is because people respect each other and make adjustments for the other's faults.

The debate on here has been quite moderate this time, but this is niche. The wider UK debate will be on Jeremy Vine and other sensationalist media outlets and will be more aggressive, more black and white and will probably only lead to more anger and no progress.

*hugs tree and fucks off*
Nov 2012
10:30am, 9 Nov 2012
246 posts
  •  
Muddie
That was Quite Interesting @DeeGee [and posted to FB]

Found on a quick Google guideholland.com
Nov 2012
10:41am, 9 Nov 2012
1,072 posts
  •  
Autumnleaves