Support thread for students, mature and otherwise...

34 watchers
Apr 2014
6:34pm, 7 Apr 2014
1,893 posts
  •  
FreshStart
I think that I need to talk through my concerns with someone at the university (other than my supervisor).

I was really interested in my topic at the start of my PhD but after three years I've lost all interest.

I don't help myself as I keep looking at how much more (papers, conferences etc) other students who started at the same time as me have done.
Apr 2014
6:42pm, 7 Apr 2014
1,594 posts
  •  
Squares
I'm studying for a degree in Theology part time, which is a far cry from my PhD in Biochemistry which I completed nearly 20 :-O years ago!

The first year you love it, the second year you get into it, the third year you hate it... and in my case I completed in my fourth year after a bit of a rethink and lots of extra lab work!
Apr 2014
6:49pm, 7 Apr 2014
1,149 posts
  •  
Fellrunning
I'm constantly sharing my home with broken/bored/disillusioned Phd students. My wife's solution is to drag them back here to the farm and mother them. I'm told she has a high success rate in reinvigorating them. Perhaps its the fresh mountain air...
Apr 2014
7:01pm, 7 Apr 2014
1,110 posts
  •  
LindsD
Ooh, perhaps you can run a residential 'rediscover your mojo' course. I'd be up for it!
Apr 2014
7:02pm, 7 Apr 2014
1,111 posts
  •  
LindsD
FS, have you looked through the graduate school to see whether there is anyone? I had 2 x 20 min sessions with a brilliant woman who really helped. The sessions are advertised as PhDilemmas and are confidential and for anyone who is struggling with anything, supervisor, workload, loss of focus, etc. (for me it was all of those....)
Apr 2014
7:03pm, 7 Apr 2014
1,112 posts
  •  
LindsD
Welcome Squares and thanks for the insight. Mine is theoretical, so no lab work.
Apr 2014
7:06pm, 7 Apr 2014
1,894 posts
  •  
FreshStart