How far do you run, before taking on liquid/food?

4 watchers
Apr 2012
4:43pm, 10 Apr 2012
2,561 posts
  •  
Magpie Rob
I used to eat porridge before morning runs. Since I started training with Curly, I have found it is pretty easy to do LSRs without food or water as long as you have had something to drink beforehand. I would never have tried that strategy before but it did show that a water bottle is a bit of a comfort blanket.

We do make sure we have fruit in the house/car/hotel depending on where we run so we can eat as soon as possible afterwards before getting a proper meal.

Like sprouty, I don't get hangovers so post-alcohol running is easy enough for me and I have done some great races after heavy nights out. It's not something I would do before a marathon or a real target race. Nor would I recommend it to others!
Apr 2012
5:02pm, 10 Apr 2012
371 posts
  •  
GerryO
If the nutrition is in place before the run then I don't need any food on a long slow run up to fifteen or sixteen miles. I stash two or three gels about my person on the rare occasions that I go beyond this. Hydration is entirely weather dependent- I could use the best part of a litre from a camelbak on the above distance or hardly touch liquid depending on the temperature and my mood. On the bike I seem to devour calories and pour out sweat and having blown out badly a few times I am much more circumspect about making sure that I have food and water with me: gels have got me home on at least one occasion when I though I would have to be medi-vacced out. I do leave something nice in the car for the end of the run though, currently frij chocolate milk shakes which have about 500 calories in them are a favourite.
Apr 2012
5:17pm, 10 Apr 2012
6,047 posts
  •  
Mrs Winkle
I can thoroughly recommend drinking alcohol whilst drinking. I get faster the more I drink.
Apr 2012
5:18pm, 10 Apr 2012
6,048 posts
  •  
Mrs Winkle