Fetchie website hosting expertise

6 watchers
May 2019
3:51pm, 15 May 2019
31,384 posts
  •  
HappyG(rrr)
I don't know if there's another thread for this already, but this is to supersede the "SERIOUSLY FETCH, SORT IT OUT..." which as Fetch said is really unnecessarily shouty and while it used to be useful for bringing something urgently to Fetch's attention, we have much better ways now (the Help/Feedback page when site is up but with probs, or Facebook / Twitter if site is actually down). Anyhoo…

Specifically, I think there must be many Fetchies who know about, and possibly could even offer(?! At mates' rates?!) resilient and performant server hosting?

I have some knowledge, but mostly work with large corporates where £1,000,000 a year is the cheap option, so might not be a very good sounding board, but will chip in what I can.

Does anyone else techie want to chime in?

I'm thinking that web hosting nowadays should be able to offer (at no extra cost - or implied in the service)
:-) High availability - system should be across multiple servers (or preferably virtual servers which are distributed across dozens of physical blades, power supplies, disks, network boards etc. or other hardware)
:-) Scalable performance - when hit with high volumes (e.g. end of month or other peaks like large file imports or something) that system shouldn't grind to a halt but should scale flexibly to accommodate the peak.
:-) Zero outage maintenance - for planned changes e.g. operating system or database version upgrade, hardware upgrades, patching etc. should all be possible without taking the system down.

I've got one mate who runs some smaller websites, so I'm going to start asking him. But harnessing the power of Fetchies, anyone got any top connections?

:-) G
May 2019
3:53pm, 15 May 2019
12,687 posts
  •  
Homer
I may be like you HG, only really at corporate stuff
May 2019
3:59pm, 15 May 2019
31,386 posts
  •  
HappyG(rrr)