A Marathon improvement question from a newbie

9 watchers
May 2012
12:08pm, 28 May 2012
First-time poster!!
  •  
RiversideRed
Hi Fetchies!

I've been a Fetch "lurker" since the beginning of the year but thought it was about time I started posting on here and ask some friendly advice.

I started training for the Edinburgh Marathon in January and was aiming for sub-4 hours. I followed the P&D plan up to 55mpw but really struggled after mile 20 with the heat, and my legs just gave in and I managed 04:16:11.

I'm running Frankfurt at the end of October and really want to get the sub-4, I was thinking of moving on to the up to 70mpw P&D to really build up the miles.
Do you guys think this might be too much of a leap? I went from pretty much nothing onto the P&D plan but not sure if I ended up maybe over training and being burned out for Edinburgh?!

May 2012
12:11pm, 28 May 2012
11,193 posts
  •  
fetcheveryone
Welcome to posting :-) There are some infinitely more experienced marathon runners who can answer that, I'm sure. Take care :-)
May 2012
12:15pm, 28 May 2012
42,415 posts
  •  
plodding hippo
hello
welcome to fetch
:)

Id just say dont underestimate the effects of heat-can add 45 minutes to my marathon time

I dont train as such, but wouldhave thought the P and D 55 mpw should still be fine for a 4 hour marathon
Not that many on here do 70mpw, and you are correct to be worried about overtraring if you are relatively new to running
May 2012
12:20pm, 28 May 2012
48 posts
  •  
Mick n Phil
welcome indeed

i am but a novice myself :)

could you give us some more info please , like what was your preparation , you see it's also about pre race prep and mental attitude etc, its not only about physical mileage

i see no problem with moving from 55 - 70 mpw,

but for now id have a littler rest and do some light ( no pressure ) training to keep the momentum going

most people on their first marathon aim to jst get around - aiming for a time puts hug pressure on ones self