New Running style = new shoes?

1 watcher
Nov 2012
9:46am, 23 Nov 2012
21 posts
  •  
Arjin
Hi you lot :),

I've been running for a few years now and have spent most of 2012 trying to recover from a plantar fascia injury. Finally been to see a physio and he has adjusted my running style a bit (I had gone from heel striking to almost running on my toes!) and I'm now getting to grips with midfoot/forefoot strike although I'm still recovering from my injury with lots and lots and lots of stretching and 10 min slow runs every 2-3 days.

At the moment I run in Asics 2160 or Mizuno Wave Ascend 6, but have been looking at something more suited to this style of running.

What I'm really interested in is do people think I should look at something like Newtons / Innov 8 (road shoes - I have 295's for the muddy stuff) / NB Minimus etc. or stay with a chunky heel?

Any advice or info / your experience's would be great.

Cheers guys.
Nov 2012
9:52am, 23 Nov 2012
18,161 posts
  •  
eL Bee!
Two schools of thought on this:

1) Transition slowly to shoes with a small or no difference in the height of the heel and forefoot, allowing yourself to adapt to the altered geometry each time before moving on

2) just jump in with both feet with minimal flexible shoes and build up your strength and adaptation sensibly.

Either way it's not a quick process, and you have to be patient.
Nov 2012
9:56am, 23 Nov 2012
18,162 posts
  •  
eL Bee!
As a side note - running on the ball of your foot or "almost running on your toes" is NOT the primary goal in running efficiently. A compact running form where your interaction with the ground is brief and as near to 'under you' as possible *is*
And forefoot/midfoot running comes about as a result of that.

If you are getting calf of achilles issues, you are forcing that landing on the front part of the foot and overworking the lower leg. This is a mistake
Nov 2012
10:03am, 23 Nov 2012
22 posts
  •  
Arjin