3 watchers
Apr 2013
8:50am, 12 Apr 2013
236 posts
  •  
twelveone
Allergic to running? Please God, no.

emedicine.medscape.com

Has anyone else come across this? I've been running for around 8 years, but the past few months have started getting an occasional allergic reaction when running. Starts out with skin feeling increasingly hot and itchy, then welts all over my torso, and face swells up like Mr. Stay Puft. Usually piriton will cure it in around 30min, but last night I had an extreme reaction, and totally lost my vision and became delirious, felt like I was going to pass out. Luckily I'd been to the allergy clinic at Royal Brompton the day before and they'd given me an EpiPen (adrenaline injection), which fixed me, but took an hour to get close to feeling normal again. Paramedics came and my bp was dangerously low, but gradually came back to normal levels after the adrenaline shot.

Would be interested to hear if anyone else has any experience/advice.

Gonna ask the doc for a big stash of EpiPens to take to London next week! :P
Apr 2013
9:35am, 12 Apr 2013
652 posts
  •  
Cyclops
Gosh - that sounds serious! Have you other allergies? Someone I know has loads and is really laid back about them but I wouldn't run again if someone told me I had this.....
Apr 2013
10:04am, 12 Apr 2013
237 posts
  •  
twelveone
Only mild asthma as a kid and hayfever occasionally. Not sure I can quit running because of this, just need to make sure I'm always prepared and have the meds to deal with it as and when it happens. The scariest part about it is if it comes on when there's no one else around. Needed my wife to call the ambulance last night as I couldn't see or speak!
Apr 2013
10:09am, 12 Apr 2013
2,676 posts
  •  
Mountain Cat
What about the environment you run in - could you be allergic to something there? (If indoors, possibly something at the gym - e.g. a cleaning product they use?)
Apr 2013
10:12am, 12 Apr 2013
3,283 posts
  •  
colettedeann