Speeding up for a half-marathon

10 watchers
Feb 2013
9:57pm, 22 Feb 2013
First-time poster!!
  •  
rkenyavic
Hello all,
Im new here - so hello :) Ive been running for a couple of years, but only got more 'serious' about it last summer when I did a couple of half marathons in October and then November. I then joined my local running club and have been going for three months now and thoroughly enjoying it. Ive kept myself half marathon fit by putting in a long run most weekends as well as my club sessions and have got my time down from 2.18 (November) to 2.06 when i ran a makeshift route the other week just to see where I was at. Ive now signed up for one half marathon in each of March, April and May and the next one is in just over two weeks time. I'd really like to break the 2 hour mark - although this next one is very hilly - the April and May ones are well known for being flat and quick, so im thinking it will probably be at one of the latter two. Anyway, I would love to hear any advice for training that I can do to speed me up a bit - as im a little lost as to what I should really be aiming for pace-wise, and also whether I should be doing more threshold running/hills etc. Just a bit of (possibly useful info) - my 5k time is 24 mins, 10k time 51mins - any advice much appreciated! Many thanks!
Feb 2013
10:00pm, 22 Feb 2013
7,497 posts
  •  
Caterpillar
Woa! Look at all these first time posters! Welcome! You are about to be bombarded with several hundred opinions.

All different. :-)
Feb 2013
10:03pm, 22 Feb 2013
7,498 posts
  •  
Caterpillar
I will start you off. WELL DONE!!! Awesome start! Most people would start with 5k or that kind of thing. Or the London Marathon on NO preparation.

:-)

Personal view is to do training over nice long distances and aim to get faster through each session. Have Garmin? Know where the mile points are on your regular route? Keep records and keep pushing the envelope.

This is not a universal opinion.
Feb 2013
10:09pm, 22 Feb 2013