When did/will you peak?

11 watchers
Nov 2016
10:21pm, 8 Nov 2016
48 posts
  •  
Brunski
When did you achieve your PBs? How old were you?
Was it different years depending on distance, or did you have a golden year when you just smashed it across the board?
Maybe you are still improving? If so, how do you plan to go about improving?
How many years of running did you take to reach your peak, was it a case of I hit 30 and it just fell into place physically or did you work your ass off over a year/years to peak?

I appreciate a lot of us will be reluctant to say we've peaked and are on the way down, I'm relatively new to running and having reached 41 (I'm in my forties now, rather than 40) I'd like to think I still have improvements to come through training.

I played football up until the last few years when running has effectively replaced this, but feel fitter now than I ever have before.
Nov 2016
10:28pm, 8 Nov 2016
34,826 posts
  •  
Velociraptor
I started running from a cold start at 37, and most of my current standard-distance PBs were set between 42 and 45. I'm now 52 and suspect I still have PBs ahead of me over ultramarathon distances, but I can't imagine the sharp stuff, such as it was, coming back to me.
Nov 2016
10:34pm, 8 Nov 2016
49 posts
  •  
Brunski
Thanks velociraptor, did you train harder during that spell 42-45 or maybe do you just think that is when your body was best able to produce the times?

I started running more around the same age; initially a few runs to/from work. Then I 'found' parkrun, which I still love.

I've done a couple marathons but can't imagine running an ultra, is that 50 miles? Nice one!
Nov 2016
10:36pm, 8 Nov 2016
50 posts
  •  
Brunski
Just re-read my opening post. Too many bloody questions! I'd be put off if I hadn't written it 😳
Nov 2016
10:50pm, 8 Nov 2016
34,827 posts
  •  
Velociraptor