Warm ups for new runners

4 watchers
Mar 2019
12:48pm, 3 Mar 2019
122 posts
  •  
Shoddy
Starting a couch to 5k group for people at work and need a warm up routine that is easy, simple and won’t put people off.

I thought walk to jog, then throw in some side steps, high knees and fast feet to finish. All of this in a circle so I can observe them doing it.

Any suggestions?
Mar 2019
1:01pm, 3 Mar 2019
57 posts
  •  
shyfire
For complete beginners/returners to exercises a simple walking warmup is good. As a repeat beginner/start over at running and exercise what you are suggesting would have given me the fear! Especially if I was in a big circle being watched. Less so when I know what am doing and have some base fitness. Really depends on the stage that the people are at in the group though.
Mar 2019
1:05pm, 3 Mar 2019
29,578 posts
  •  
Derby Tup
Walking sounds perfect for true beginners to me
Mar 2019
1:14pm, 3 Mar 2019
123 posts
  •  
Shoddy
Good points - don’t want to be putting people off. Back to basics then and no need to over complicate things.
Mar 2019
1:16pm, 3 Mar 2019
45,467 posts
  •  
The Mighty Fleecy
Group leaders tend to go a bit crazy on warmups. Like doing jumping jacks with very inactive people (nooooo!) I suggest a 5 minute walk getting brisker as you go, if you must do anything else then turning it into a bit of a game is a good ice breaker and I agree that the circle thing can be intimidating. Focus on having fun and keeping the intensity low and/or the intervals really short.
Mar 2019
1:17pm, 3 Mar 2019
45,468 posts
  •  
The Mighty Fleecy
Also: if you’re giving them homework for sessions outside the group then best to have a super simple warmup because they won’t remember anything more complicated.
Mar 2019
1:26pm, 3 Mar 2019
14,431 posts
  •  
Sharkie
As the others have hinted it depends on how fit/unfit your colleagues are. Yes walking is good - but get them to gently swing the arms.