Vinegar for cramp!?!?

3 watchers
Sep 2011
11:01pm, 7 Sep 2011
4,838 posts
  •  
BelleVueRacer of Beartown
Does it work or is someone at work pulling my leg?
Sep 2011
11:15pm, 7 Sep 2011
18,301 posts
  •  
Nellers
I have no personbal experience but I did hear a piece on TriTalk a while back where drinking "pickle juice" (ie. the vinegar from the pickle jar) stopped cramps during the race in almost everyone who tried it.

The trouble is it was an instant and short term effect in as much as you had to have the pickle juice handy for when you were likely to get the cramps and you had to down it as you felt the cramp hit.

If you suffer with cramps badly I'd say it might be worth a shot.
Sep 2011
11:32pm, 7 Sep 2011
10,147 posts
  •  
Ultra Kazzaaaaah!!
The quinine in tonic water is supposed to be good for cramp. May be more pleasant to drink!
Sep 2011
11:35pm, 7 Sep 2011
7,916 posts
  •  
paul a
Surely an electrolyte style sports drink would be a better option.
Sep 2011
11:56pm, 7 Sep 2011
16 posts
  •  
jammybilly
Hi Bellvue Racer, I've been getting cramp in my calfs and have been looking up what I can do/what might be the causes.

Being dehydrated was one cause. I've made sure over the last few months that I am always fully hydrated, run or no run.

The next cause was low sodium intake. I've upped my salt intake (I don't normally take salt in my food). That helped a bit.

I don't eat many green vegetables (none really) and after looking up stuff on the internet my next thing I am going to try is to take a Magnesium supplement. Magnesium is part of chlorophyll, the green of plants so it seemed a logical thing that I was not getting enough. I've since calculated that I'm getting 1/3 to half the amount I should be so I'm going to try a soluble form of Magnesium (Magnesium Citrate). Still need to find out who stocks it and how much it is though. I was also getting a pulsing sensation in my calfs, that was mentioned on the net as a symptom of a lack of Magnesium.