Trouble with 80/20 Training - Heart Rate Zones

6 watchers
Sep 2017
3:29pm, 24 Sep 2017
First-time poster!!
  •  
Grouch-jnr
Hello all - I need some training advice and thought I'd open it out to a forum before I pay a coach to look at it.

I'm an amateur runner looking to speed up and have been working on Matt Fitzgerald's 80/20 5k programme from Training Peaks. I am really struggling with it because I feel like it's having me run far, far too slowly.

My PB for 5k is 19:30 and I right now I'd back myself to go out and run a 20:30 or so without too much difficulty. I would put my recovery run pace at between 9 and 8 minutes per mile and yet the foundation runs are having me run 10 minute miles. This feels so painfully slow and unsatisfying, I just can't see how I'm getting any benefit whatsoever out of this. I keep thinking it must be that my Lactate Threshold hasn't been calculated properly but at 164 it seems probably about right.

Either I need more faith in the plan or something is going quite seriously wrong - somebody please help!

If anybody would be able to help me analyse the data in my Garmin Connect Account or Training Peaks account please let me know!

Many thanks from a frustrated amateur!
Sep 2017
9:22pm, 24 Sep 2017
4,819 posts
  •  
chunkywizard
I’ll start by saying, I’m no expert, but can I ask, how the pace isn’t calculated? You meantion Lactate Threashold so are you trying to keep your heart rate below a certain% of LT HR?

Just to offer something for you compare against, my 5K PB is 30secs faster than you but I just ran tonight at <70% Max HR and I was running 9:40/mile

Sometimes running slowly, or at least at low heart rate can be beneficial but I can’t tell if it’s good for you.

Do you have a link to the training plan?
Sep 2017
10:20pm, 24 Sep 2017
30,758 posts
  •  
GlennR