The Spine/Spine Challenger Races 2018

10 watchers
Feb 2017
7:21am, 28 Feb 2017
4,037 posts
  •  
ChrisThePuma
So after completing the spine challenger this year I am down for the full version next year. This year all my kit performed perfectly with the exception of my footwear choice (La Sportive Trango GTX lightweight walking boots) which started to leak 30 miles in, so this year will be mostly concentrating in getting my footwear sorted.

Thus i have a new pair of Scott Kinabalu to try, and have ordered some Inov8 x-claw shoes as well. I love buying (running) shoes I do :-D
Feb 2017
8:23am, 28 Feb 2017
1,608 posts
  •  
RunningInCircles
Good luck.
I have zero experience of events on that scale, I have decided my sweet spot is 50m or 100km, stuff I can do in a day and drive home that evening :-)

However, when it comes to staying dry and comfortable all day in foul weather outside, I have worked outdoors in the past for a number of years, involving a lot of walking.

Have you considered waterproof socks? They can be quite good. Even if you go for waterproof shoes, a pair in your pack plus a microfibre cloth to dry your feet weighs very little, but allows for dry feet again after shoes start to leak. They do have their own "quirks" in terms of usage and fit. So best not to try them on the day for the first time, like all kit :-)

Hope it all goes well :-)
Feb 2017
8:27am, 28 Feb 2017
1,609 posts
  •  
RunningInCircles
Oh, and I am a sandal wearer these days, so oddball alternative is to not wear socks/shoes :-p I did a heavy mud section of the Winter Poppyline barefoot completely to the amusement of those around me as I got better grip/feel than when I had the sandals on :-)
Feb 2017
8:40am, 28 Feb 2017
35,606 posts
  •  
Velociraptor
I'm looking forward to more of your excellent blogs :)

I feel safe around Spine Race stuff, knowing that it's well out of my reach in every way. Even more so now that it has to be done unsupported.
Feb 2017
11:06am, 28 Feb 2017