The Last Family In England - Book Group discussion thread

5 watchers
Jan 2019
7:16am, 28 Jan 2019
3,036 posts
  •  
westmoors
Having read back, I agree the characters were dull.

Hadn't really noticed the Shakespeare connection and I studied Henry IV Part 1 for O level English!

Agree with McGoo about taking a dog on an abseiling trip. I did wonder who was going to climb back up to collect him!
Jan 2019
8:16am, 28 Jan 2019
38,070 posts
  •  
McGoohan
I was thinking about this. I know Malham Cove quite well. There's a large 'staircase' to the left made by the council/National Park which winds round. Even so it's very steep and it takes a while to get to the top.

Logically, they would have left the dog tethered at the bottom - if they'd taken him at all - then walked up and set up the abseiling gear, abseiled down and collected the dog. Of course someone would have had to go back up anyway for the equipment. Even so, the top of Malham Cove is limestone pavement: even a tethered dog here would be at danger of slipping and breaking a leg. You just wouldn't do it. The dog is only there so it can bite through the ropes. It makes no sense at all.
Jan 2019
8:50am, 28 Jan 2019
11,237 posts
  •  
Serendippily
The whale eating a boiled egg at the end of night birds in Nantucket did marvels for my ability to suspend disbelief it’s become the yardstick by which the feasibility of all other plots are judged ;-)
Jan 2019
8:53am, 28 Jan 2019
38,071 posts
  •  
McGoohan
Spoilers! ;-)
Jan 2019
8:53am, 28 Jan 2019
26,142 posts
  •  
LindsD
Yeah. WE were OK with talking dogs but not with abseiling irregularities...
Jan 2019
9:06am, 28 Jan 2019
38,073 posts
  •  
McGoohan
But of course...

It's reminded me of the story Mark Kermode tells - he went to see the ultra-weird David Lynch film Eraserhead when it came out with a friend. At one point, his friend leaned over and said, 'Well, *that* would never happen' as if any of the rest of it would!
Jan 2019
4:59pm, 31 Jan 2019
5,676 posts