Southend on Sea parkrun

17 watchers
May 2011
10:24am, 17 May 2011
First-time poster!!
  •  
southendal
Hello all,

I'm new to Fetch Everyone, so please excuse any misdemeanours.

I've enquired about starting a parkrun in Southend on Sea and was wondering what the take up would be.

I run regularly along the seafront and see loads of people out in all sorts of weather and know that there are plenty of active running clubs in the area, some of whom are represented on these forums so thought that there maybe the numbers locally to make it worthwhile.

Also, I've heard so many good things about parkrun but am at least an hour from the nearest one, so what better way to have a local one than start one!

So:

- do you fancy getting involved?
- would you run if there was one started in the Southend area?
- would your club mates be interested?
- can you think of a good course (I'm looking at Belfairs)

Thanks for looking, please leave a reply if this is something that would interest you, and I'll keep this thread updated as to progress.

Alex
May 2011
7:18pm, 17 May 2011
17,062 posts
  •  
Nellers
Hello, Southendal, and welcome to Fetch.

I live in Rayleigh so pretty local and although I couldn't commit to be involved every week due to family commitments I would certainly try to get along every 2 or 3 weeks to either race myself, run round with my kids, or help out with the running of the event.

I would thinkt hat there will be a few more relatively local Fetchies who would get involved, too.
May 2011
8:57am, 18 May 2011
First-time poster!!
  •  
8eaker
Hi all,
Just signed up as a colleague pointed out this post (work in Surrey, live in Eastwood)
As Nellers, couldn't commit on a regular basis, but would pop along every now and again. Belfairs would be a good venue, but Cherry Orchard Country park would introduce a few gentle hills too ;-)
Good luck
May 2011
10:47am, 18 May 2011
2 posts
  •  
southendal
Nellers, 8eaker,