Running causing head/neck/jaw etc tension.. Answers?

3 watchers
Aug 2016
1:49pm, 19 Aug 2016
1,924 posts
  •  
Tomsmum
I am a very very novice runner and am doing my first 10km on Sunday. I have done quite a lot of mileage this week but my legs have (mostly) dealt with it fine. My upper body however is complaining..I am very prone to upper body tension anyhow but I am in enough pain to take painkillers today. I have a knee issue which is less painful than my jaw and shoulder today!

Post race I will need to look at running style etc, I am doing a yoga class later but could really do with any suggestions people have for helping me to be more relaxed during the event as I am sure it doesn't actually help my running!
Aug 2016
2:33pm, 19 Aug 2016
40,263 posts
  •  
swittle
No expert, I, but might be worth looking at how core exercises [stomach, lower back etc.] might improve stability.
Aug 2016
3:20pm, 19 Aug 2016
9,119 posts
  •  
Autumnleaves
I'm no expert either - but many runners neglect their upper body strength (myself included!). Yoga will help but core exercises will help too - and Pilates. In terms of trying to keep your upper body relaxed, we once tried carrying a Pringle in each hand during a speed session at the club! The aim was (obviously) to keep the Pringle intact during a sprint. It did help focus the mind :)
Aug 2016
5:45pm, 19 Aug 2016
565 posts
  •  
Flatlander
I think that Swittle and AL are on the right track. If your core is not strong then it is not giving you stability, and it is possible your upper body is trying to take over that role but it is not designed to do that and so leads to tension in that area as a way of trying to keep yourself from rocking from side to side of backwards and forth, that should be the function of the strong. I'm with AL on Pilates, it has strengthened my core noticeably.