Pulmonary Embolism

3 watchers
Jun 2016
4:34pm, 9 Jun 2016
4 posts
  •  
chrisp1
What are peoples experiences returning to training after a Pulmonary Ebolism,Hospital said fine to run just a bit nervous to start
Jun 2016
10:08pm, 9 Jun 2016
30,250 posts
  •  
Bintmcskint
I'm afraid I have no experienced advice to offer.

Totally understand why you might be a bit nervous though! I guess if the hospital says it is fine to run then it's just a matter of starting off really easy and with shorts runs.

Hopefully someone with either personal experience or medical knowledge will be along soon.

Good luck!
Jun 2016
11:54pm, 9 Jun 2016
23,859 posts
  •  
McGoohan
This'll drop off the radar tomorrow so I'll try to bump the thread for you...
Jun 2016
2:56am, 10 Jun 2016
2,315 posts
  •  
Sweaty Frank
Chrisp1, I have had multiple incidents with CVTs which led to PEs. I will be happy to chat with you about this. Was the underlying cause of the clotting determined? Do you have a condition, possibly Factor V Lieden? Briefly, I had a serious incident 6 years ago that lended me in hospital. I was able to recover and return to running starting about a month later. I was 53 at the time, and a sub-three hour marathoner. I eventually ran a sub-three marathon in Boston to complete my comeback. I had a second incident last September. I was on the mend from that when I tore my hamstring very badly in February, so I am just now beginning to run well again. Ask me anything about how I managed my recovery, how I had a second incident, why I am sure I will not have a third, or whatever you are curious about.
Jun 2016
12:03pm, 10 Jun 2016
9,013 posts
  •  
Gymfreak
I have Factor V Leiden.