Polarized training

90 watchers
J2R
Aug 2020
3:28pm, 13 Aug 2020
2,900 posts
  •  
J2R
HOD, not sure in terms of percentage. But I seem to have settled into a pattern of running easy (below 70% of heart rate reserve) every day, normally about 5-6 miles, including one rather longer run of maybe 9-12 miles. Once a week I will do a speed session concentrating on developing endurance, which may be 1km reps, or maybe a 5k time trial like we had at the club this week, and on another day I will do a shortish speed session concentrating on leg strength, so short sprints or hill work (increasingly necessary as I get older). I don't always do both sessions in a week, but if not, I will try to alternate. So in terms of time, maybe 20%.
Aug 2020
4:55pm, 13 Aug 2020
71,081 posts
  •  
Gobi
HoD - none
J2R
Aug 2020
5:38pm, 13 Aug 2020
2,902 posts
  •  
J2R
Gobi, are you saying you don't do any high intensity training at all?
Aug 2020
5:50pm, 13 Aug 2020
3,994 posts
  •  
Kieren
HOD - I'm new to this but in theory, no zone 3 in last 16 week plan although my HR has drifted into zone 3 and higher in the recent heat and between intervals.

I worked out a few pages back that the plan from Jack Daniels had me at almost exactly 80:20 zone 2:4. The beginner general fitness plan has has had sessions with intervals up to 5 minutes in zone 4 heart rate - at threshold and above.

This is my last week on that 16 week plan so I'm taking a bit more rest before I graduate to the next 16 week plan. A glimpse of that shows the introduction of faster but shorter repeats which I expect will pull me into zone 5, followed by rest periods mixed with intervals like the last plan that should be zone 4. I don't imagine the ratios on the new plan are probably almost exactly as noted by Canute in the "about this thread" section.