Pilates

7 watchers
Nov 2014
4:06pm, 4 Nov 2014
4,974 posts
  •  
Autumnleaves
I've been doing a local class of Reformer Pilates (uses a machine) for about 6 weeks now - an hour a week, it's pretty intensive but I am really enjoying it. The teacher is very aware of what we all do - run, cycle etc, and differentiates exercises well. I do try and do small sets of other core exercises at home too. I find it has really helped my back and improved the flexibility in my legs around the ITB and hamstrings.
Nov 2014
4:56pm, 4 Nov 2014
2,404 posts
  •  
Curly45
Pilates has been amazing for me :) sounds like your class is too easy. My abs ache for days after mine. Especially when we use the Tye four bungee things.

Off to try Bikram yoga on Friday as well to add another to the cross train list :)
Nov 2014
5:56pm, 4 Nov 2014
11,409 posts
  •  
danny wilde
I've been doing Pilates for a few years with the same instructor. Most, if not all of the exercises have a more strenuous version which she takes great pleasure in watching me attempt when I get bored. Stick with it and ask the teacher for alternative exercises, or as you said try another class. My abs never hurt on the day of the class but 24 hours later I know about it. Good luck :)
Nov 2014
6:32pm, 4 Nov 2014
957 posts
  •  
Tikka