•  
Lip Gloss
Good idea about a total newbie take over though
Sep 2019
6:26pm, 18 Sep 2019
1,031 posts
  •  
edison
I have a load of experienced volunteers on standby, of course. I neglected to tell people that though when I announced the idea. I have an idea to do a jokey article about awarding new milestone shirts with the number 0 on them for people yet to volunteer, and "we know who you all are". But I do appreciate there are folk who maybe do loads of voluntary work every day and for whom parkrun is a release. I'm trying to keep it all fun.
Sep 2019
7:17pm, 18 Sep 2019
4,827 posts
  •  
57.5 Degrees of Pain
In the early days we ran Inverness with a minimum of three non running volunteers. RD doubling as funnel manager, one timer, one token handerouterer. A fast finisher on scanning (RD could do the first few) and no need for marshals given the open lapped course.

I was RD again for the first time in over 3 years Saturday. Wasn't sure what to do with the crowd of volunteers who turned up.
Sep 2019
3:55pm, 19 Sep 2019
429 posts
  •  
BexleyKev
Going back a few pages. JJJ - I believe you have completely misunderstood my post. I make no reference to any one turning up to volunteer on a Saturday or volunteers being turned away because the roster is full but only that there are events that seem to have an excessive number ( as per the weekly roster ) for roles that may be OTT for a ‘run’ and more akin to a club race. However on your point about providing a role for any who turn up on Saturday morning wanting to volunteer, this could potentially lead to the roster continuing to be populated with those additional marshals or other role and it gradually becomes the norm. I doubt that anyone would be offended if they were thanked for offering but advised that the event had sufficient to go ahead that week and they would be welcome to put their name down for a future date.
Sep 2019
4:28pm, 19 Sep 2019
35,904 posts
  •  
Lip Gloss