Pain in Shoulder Blade Area?

2 watchers
Sep 2017
10:30am, 14 Sep 2017
First-time poster!!
  •  
CharlotteCox92
I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me out with something...
I am currently training for the London Marathon 2018 - I have been training for a few months now and noticed that a couple of times when I am completing a 'longish' run (the longest I've done so far is 7.5 miles - complete beginner) after a certain amount of miles, I start getting a pain in my left shoulder blade area. It feels like trapped wind or something like that. Sometimes, I just move my arm around a little bit and it eases up, other times I can still run through it but it is quite painful and uncomfortable. Is this something I need to worry about? Do you think I need to contact my doctor or get a massage or something? As I say it doesn't happen on every run, it happened to me last night but other than that I hadn't felt it for a few months?
Any advice you have would be appreciated :)
Thanks
Charlotte
Sep 2017
11:43am, 14 Sep 2017
27,314 posts
  •  
HappyG(rrr)
Hi Charlotte, welcome to Fetch.

No specific expertise in a shoulder pain. Very hard to tell if it's internal (digestion, breathing etc.) or skeletal (muscle, bone, tendon etc.) from your description.

If it's muscle, then massage (including self massage - foam roller or spiky ball) can help. Also stretching. If it's digestion / breathing, then experiment with not eating or eating less or different before / during your runs etc.

General point - this is very early to be training for London 2018 specifically. Just enjoy building up your running distance and time and give yourself plenty of time to recover from any niggles, if they are muscle or tendon type things.

Very best of luck with your training. London marathon is a fab experience. Hopefully one of our docs or physio / trainer qualified people will be able to help more. :-) G
Sep 2017
3:25pm, 14 Sep 2017
2 posts
  •  
CharlotteCox92
Thank you :)