Muscle cramp

1 watcher
Feb 2012
11:02pm, 26 Feb 2012
26 posts
  •  
Mamemeister
I've noticed in the last week or so I seem to have what can only be described as a dull, cramp like tightness in all my leg muscles and makes me feel like I have to stretch them to ease it. My weekly mileage isn't any more than normal so it's not that and oddly apart from the annoyingness of the of this I'm actually in pretty good form.

I've been running now for over 2 years and average about 30 miles a week and have never experienced this before, heck even a day after a big run (marathon / ultra) I never have any long lasting pains.

The only thing that has changed in the last 2 weeks is I've just started wearing a new pair of running shoes though can't personally imagine that would cause this as they are actually very comfortable.

I'm wondering if it's possibly a virus or something or related to lack of salt in my diet though again nothing has changed in the 2 years I've been running.

Like I said it doesnt seem to affect my running but it's annoying them feeling like this.

Any ideas chaps?

Got the D33 in a few weeks and want to hopefully be ailment free by then!
Feb 2012
1:07pm, 29 Feb 2012
1,698 posts
  •  
clairevmc
Hi - just bouncing this for Mamemeister...
Feb 2012
1:23pm, 29 Feb 2012
502 posts
  •  
hairlikeeddy
Since I started swimming a lot more last year, I find that my muscles tighten a lot more after a run or long bike ride. At times a horrid irritation around the knees and into the calves. I've found that having an energy drink or milkshake after a swim helps towards the other disciplines. Plus lots of stretches.

I also found that when I had a new pair of Asics Cumulus 13 trainers a couple of months ago that the problem came back a bit, especially on the road - so I switched to running on grass for a bit. Helped a lot.
Feb 2012
1:26pm, 29 Feb 2012
3,325 posts
  •  
Iron_Mum