Marathon from a half in 9 weeks

2 watchers
Apr 2013
2:15pm, 22 Apr 2013
22,273 posts
  •  
Frobester
I've got a hilly marathon at the end of June. It's 9 weeks away. I could go to one of those RW training plans and cut out bits and pieces, but can anyone suggest anything alternative to this? I've done a couple of marathons before, neither on road, and neither particularly quick.

Thanks.
Apr 2013
2:25pm, 22 Apr 2013
239 posts
  •  
buzby123
Ok I am no expert but I did it. Had only run 4 or 5 Halves (including a couple of trail ones) before I entered the Bolton Hill Marathon the second week in January. The race was 8 weeks later and I managed it ok. Plenty of training in the hills, it wasn't fast but it was race specific. Plenty of multi terrain work, hardly any tarmac stuff although it was Winter and snowy so wouldn't have got out much on the tarmac anyway. I feel like I blasted the race, set a targe of 5:20 and ended up with 4:50, pace overall was a whole minute per mile faster than average training runs. There was no specific plan just ensured at least one long run in the hills once a week, another 2 or 3 runs, one of which was in the hills also, the others lower level off road stuff or hill sprints on a treadmill.

It helped that I live near the course and we ran it constantly in training, in various guises, until the last training run was 23 miles of the whole route. That was the biggest confidence builder, knowing exactly what the job in hand was, where I would need to walk, recover etc. Good luck.
Apr 2013
955 posts
  •  
monsenb1
What distances have your long runs been in the last few weeks?
From your training plan has the long run been only 6 miles? Your mileage over the last couple of months has been very low for a marathon attempt in the next few weeks

Could you manage something like the following as long runs for the next 6 weeks?

10, 13, 16, 13, 18, 20

would ideally do another long run of 20 or over somehow
but 3 runs over 16 should see you through..