London Marathon Looming - have i got shin splints???

4 watchers
Mar 2012
2:34pm, 13 Mar 2012
29 posts
  •  
Slow Sam
I started training for the London Marathon, in October last year, after having a couple of years off running and having a baby. Up until Christmas everything was fine, however after Christmas, once I started upping the miles and concentrating on speed work, i started with a niggle on the inside of my leg, where the shin bone connects to the calf (IYKWIM??)

I took a week off in February as my right leg started with the same niggle and now both shins proper hurt!

I went to the Doctor, who said it didn't sound like shin splints and advised ibuprofen and deep heat....

I've just come back from a 4 mile run and they're killing me...

So, what do I do?? I can't see how I can have a couple of weeks off to see if it heals, so do I just muddle through until its taper time??

Any help is appreciated, as its really putting me off my running!
Mar 2012
3:22pm, 13 Mar 2012
5,863 posts
  •  
Mrs Winkle
Get yourself to a sports injury physio for an assessment. :)
Mar 2012
9:57pm, 13 Mar 2012
110 posts
  •  
slowmarc-belfast
hows your trainers mate maybe there done! i suffer form shins splints for years weight, trainers, to many miles and overpronating.. any one of these could give you splints 2 will defiantly give you them
Mar 2012
6:51am, 14 Mar 2012
30 posts
  •  
Slow Sam
Thanks a lot for the replied, appreciated!
Think a sports injury bod is my next step. Massage guy will be in office when i get in this morning, will ask him for the number for someone!
I've had my shoes checked twice and they're ok, been advised to try sorbothane double strike insoles, which i now have, but its getting worse.
I run with guys in the office, so think they've been caused by trying to keep up with them, although Im now training on my own again.
Could hardly walk this morning, but don't want to have to pull out of London!
Why can't i enjoy a run with no pain?!
Mar 2012