Kinvara 4 Arch Support

1 watcher
Jul 2014
9:08pm, 1 Jul 2014
First-time poster!!
  •  
Toxophilite
Hi all,

First post here, though I've been lurking for a while. I'm Dave, originally from Sunderland and I've been running for about a year, more seriously for the past six months. Only ran the one race so far (did the Oxford Town and Gown 10k back in May in 48:20 which I was quite happy with). Currently looking to work up towards a half-marathon though no particular goals in mind just yet.

I have a question about arch support in the Kinvara 4. I've been running in the Saucony Mirage 2 for a while now (the only shoe I've done serious running in) and, since they were getting quite worn I decided to give the Kinvara a try, wanting something a bit more lightweight and having read good reviews. I've only been out for one run in them, but one thing I noticed was that there seemed to be an awful lot of arch support compared to what I was used to, to the point where the insole felt like it was really pushing up into the arch of my foot, especially my left foot (they felt good apart from this). This isn't something I've ever noticed with the Mirage. Is this likely to be something that is just a symptom of the shoes being new and my feet not being used to them? If it was not to go away after I've been running in them for a while is there much I could do to remedy this? I'm quite hesitant about the thought of taking a stanley knife to a nice new pair of trainers....

Cheers!
Jul 2014
9:22pm, 1 Jul 2014
638 posts
  •  
mblnFERCr
Welcome to fetch Toxophilite. Nice handle :)
Did you try them on before buying? I find I need to run at least half a mile on the treadmill with shoes I've never used before I can be sure my feet 'like' them. I've also never known a shoe that felt wrong on the arch which got better the more I used them (mostly 'cos I wouldn't leave the shop with them), though others may have a different experience.
Jul 2014
3:18pm, 2 Jul 2014
836 posts
  •  
K5 Gus