ITBS- lump normal?

1 watcher
Nov 2012
10:20pm, 18 Nov 2012
48 posts
  •  
HiMoz
Ive been cycling for two years issue free but started turbo training about a month ago and am getting symptoms of ITBS. In addition I also have a lump over the effected area! I'm unable to get to a physio at the moment and was just wondering if anyone knew if this is normal! :/

Nov 2012
9:51pm, 20 Nov 2012
2 posts
  •  
MattyMatysek
I don't think it is, I hadn't had ITBS until September and I had no clue what it was and got petrified! I thought I was peaking at 21 but I saw a few physios and all was well with a strict icing and massage schedule. A lump could exist as its an inflamed piece of tissue but it has to be VERY inflammed to be visible I assume. Hope this helps mate. Buy a foam roller and attach your ITB
Nov 2012
3:26pm, 21 Nov 2012
2,191 posts
  •  
tom_craggs
I would have this checked out before you jump on a foam roller. ITBS would not normally present with visible swelling and certainly not to this extent, if you cant see a physio perhaps GP? I have torn my lateral meniscus in the past and had swelling in a similar area (though it didn't look quite the same). Are you feeling instability?

I am sure far more qaulified poepel will offer a view soon enough but I thin you should have this looked at ASAP, might be something minor but then you'll know.
Mar 2013
2:05am, 12 Mar 2013
First-time poster!!
  •  
Jeff67
I have had an ITB problem for the last 3 weeks,I just thought it was a sore knee till I saw a physio. My knee looks similar to your pic swollen on the outside. I have had to stop running which is difficult as I run a half marathon next sunday,but rest and ice is helping. I would get it checked out ASAP, but in the meantime try gentle massage of the outer thigh and anti flams too doing this should not hurt.
I have had 3 physio sessions, my running style checked and shoes selected to correct my overpronation, plus the above helped.