It's all in the hips....

3 watchers
Jul 2013
12:41pm, 20 Jul 2013
10 posts
  •  
Snigel
Hello. I'm a 50 year old (ex - according to my GP) diabetic runner with epilepsy and now it looks like I have mild osteoarthritis in my right hip (my own interpretation of the X-Ray image - I was an orthopaedic theatre nurse for far too many years...).
Doesn't hurt when exercising (except Body Balance class, as I discovered today) but is excruciatingly painful when moving from flexion to extension (like getting up from a chair, or from bending over).
What I am after is any words of advice from anyone who may have been in a similar situation or, best of all, someone who is still able to run with a replacement hip. My favourite distance is 10k, I like halfs and I've done one full (in 4:44:59, so v. slow). I want to be able to do more marathons...
Anyone out there?
Jul 2013
1:58pm, 20 Jul 2013
5,635 posts
  •  
flip
Hello, can't help you but hopefully someone will come along with some advice. Welcome to fetch .
Jul 2013
2:25pm, 20 Jul 2013
6,567 posts
  •  
geordiegirl
Welcome to Fetch, sorry to hear of the pain in your hips hopefully someone will be along soon with some advice for yoelcome to Fetch
Jul 2013
3:01pm, 20 Jul 2013
5,271 posts
  •  
Ness
Hello Snigel,

I had a hip resurfacing done in February 2003. I took up running in July of that year, initially to try to improve the muscle tone in my legs. I've run in lots of races since, including 21 half marathons. I checked with my consultant before I started running the half marathons. He said it was fine.
Jul 2013
9:13am, 21 Jul 2013
11 posts
  •  
Snigel
Thanks all, and thanks Ness. It's running that's seen my diabetes off and it's running that keeps me sane - I really don't want to have to give up.
With any luck, I'll be able to persuade one of my old consultants to do it for me. Incidentally - I scrubbed for one of the first McMinn resurfacings, with Derek. Brilliant surgeon. Foul temper!!
Jul 2013
9:48am, 21 Jul 2013