I wish someone had a crystal ball....

7 watchers
Feb 2014
4:00pm, 9 Feb 2014
1,512 posts
  •  
RevBarbaraG
Ah.

I wouldn't go so far as to say that I will.... just that, even though Sensible Barbara thinks one is enough and will prove the point, Mad Reckless Adrenalin Junkie Barbara likes the sound of the 100 marathon club. However, she also likes being married, and has obligations which do somewhat get in the way of training.
Feb 2014
4:26pm, 9 Feb 2014
898 posts
  •  
Lorraine
This is a really tough call. I have no doubt you will get to the start line. You don't really need to taper just bring the mileage down for the last week. Because of illness while training for my first marathon I didn't run further than 14 miles - having said that I had been running 12 mikes every week for 6 months before I started marathon training.

I think the really concern here is the mental side. You said yourself you hadn't realised how much marathon training us about the mental ability and at this stage if you have any doubts,which you do, I would be questioning whether it's the right thing to do. I know how hard it is for you understandably to get a pass for a Sunday but could you open up negotiations with all involved - your OH and the charity - see if you can find another marathon later in the year ? Yes London is fab but honestly and truthfully there are plenty of wonderful other marathons throughout the year. I think you will be in a better place if you can find a way of changing marathons. The last thing any of us want is for you not to enjoy your first marathon.
Feb 2014
4:31pm, 9 Feb 2014
1,514 posts
  •  
RevBarbaraG
When I started this thread, I had no doubts about my ability to finish the marathon. I still don't. I had questions about how quickly it was advisable to ramp my running back up, so as to be sufficiently well-trained to finish the marathon well, without risking reinjury (which would put paid to it).
Feb 2014
4:38pm, 9 Feb 2014
743 posts
  •  
DuncanG