Hypothetical marathon training question....

2 watchers
Feb 2012
10:30am, 27 Feb 2012
96 posts
  •  
Mrsbridgewater
If I were to enter a marathon in October (for which I may or may not already have a place!) should I follow a beginners or an intermediate training programme?

I've run half marathons before (finish in around 1hr 51mins) but nothing longer, so while I am not a beginner runner I am a beginner at marathons.

My main aim for this year is to keep my training at a level where, if I was told there was a 10mile or half marathon tomorrow I would be able to run it, the marathon is sort of in the diary, but I haven't really committed to it.
Feb 2012
10:34am, 27 Feb 2012
1,084 posts
  •  
ultracollie
intermediate def,

you can already sustain constant running for 1:51 which is a very respectible time.
so def not a beginner,
get some good base training in and build up over 16 weeks or so with a target half around 8 weeks out.
which Mara are we hypothisising about ;-)
Feb 2012
10:37am, 27 Feb 2012
97 posts
  •  
Mrsbridgewater
A flat one, which has excellent Fetch support - or so I am led to believe! But 26.2 miles is a heck of a long way. Seriously - why would I run it when I can get a bus? I think I stand a better chance of doing an October mara as I can use my (excessively long!) summer holiday to get some serious training runs in. I worry though, as I have some halfs already booked that I still want to do - and they are around the same time.
Ted
Feb 2012
10:47am, 27 Feb 2012
10,893 posts
  •  
Ted
Intermediate. Your mileage recorded is reasonable although you don't have much of a training history on here. When was your 1/2? Recent or some time back?
Feb 2012
11:24am, 27 Feb 2012
98 posts
  •  
Mrsbridgewater
October was my last half race, done a few of ten mile races since then (most recent on 11/2/12) , am on track for 1000 miles this year. I only joined Fetch mid January - so I guess it will take a while for the training record to build.
Feb 2012