How Do YOU Long Run..?

1 lurker | 14 watchers
May 2014
12:21pm, 28 May 2014
10650 posts
  •  
SODIron © 2002
As a runner and coach I am interested to hear how you fellow runners run your long runs when training. Do you just to the distance nice and easy, do you set yourself a time goal for the distance, do you do some pace specific work, or something different?

To start us off I'll post what I do, feel free to add your long run thought, what you do and why.

I tend to do two types of long runs...the easy 'time on feet' long run and the 'pace specific' long run. Each have a different purpose...the 'time on feet' run is just to get my body used to running the long miles, whereas the 'pace specific' long runs are to simulate the feeling of running hard(isn) when fatigued etc.
May 2014
12:45pm, 28 May 2014
6893 posts
  •  
Wriggling Snake
hmm, I can do a selection of all 3. try to run a specific distance at a specific constant pace, ususally quite easy, a good minute outside HM pace. I also do occasional runs where I will di interspace fast half miles or miles at 10k pace. My new thing is to run hard at the end, 5-6 miles, plus a couple below mara pace, 2 at HM, then some fast sections at 10k and 5k (well try too). This new LR is to get em running quicker for the summer, I want to get my 5k time down.
May 2014
12:52pm, 28 May 2014
28132 posts
  •  
Nellers
As a bit of a Hal Higdon fan I do 2 types of long runs.

Most are just about covering the distance and I keep pace down by monitoring my HR and trying not to go above a set point (65 or 70% depending on fitness and training situation).

In race build ups I'll run easy for 3/4s of the set distance as above then try to pick up the pace progressively through the last quarter, usually finishing off somewhere close to Half Marathon pace.
May 2014
12:52pm, 28 May 2014
3879 posts
  •  
Dooogs