Hot v Cold Treatment

1 watcher
Jan 2013
11:53am, 14 Jan 2013
2,168 posts
  •  
clare1976
I was wondering what people think re the merits of the above for treating (a hopefully minor) injury and how it works in practice?

I have pulled my right hamstring while running earlier and now have a sore spot when I press in hard above the back of my knee. I have had hot / cold treatment suggested and obviously I know about using an ice pack and I have one for such uses, but I have never used 'warm' or 'hot' treatment before. What do people use for it? A hot water bottle? Do you do them one straight after another? and in which order if so?

Keen to nip this one in the bud as quickly as possible so all advice welcome - thanks!
Jan 2013
7:42pm, 14 Jan 2013
2,169 posts
  •  
clare1976
Anybody? :-(

Am sticking to ice pack for now - googled hot n cold treatment and it suggested you shouldn't use heat for first 48 hrs or so. But not sure I trust Dr Google fully so any real life views / experience welcome!
Jan 2013
8:41pm, 14 Jan 2013
14,706 posts
  •  
JohnnyO
Ice will reduce inflammation and pain and would potentially be more helpful early on. Warm will improve blood flow which could help recovery and help you warm up (which might limit any secondary injuries).

No real advice on when to switch I am afraid. Maybe ice whilst you are still resting it, and warmth when you gently start to mobilise again?
Jan 2013
9:04pm, 14 Jan 2013
2,170 posts
  •  
clare1976
thanks Johnny, makes sense
Jan 2013
9:15pm, 14 Jan 2013
9,479 posts
  •  
Girlie
When My knee was very painful I was advised to alternate between ice and heat for around 10 mins or so on each. I used to do it 2-3 times, depending on how painful it was.

I used a gel ice pack and a hot water bottle in that order.
Jan 2013
9:27pm, 14 Jan 2013
18,274 posts
  •  
eL Bee!
I tend to go by: Acute injury - first 24 hours - cold stuff.

Thereafter warm stuff
Jan 2013
2:52pm, 15 Jan 2013
2,171 posts
  •  
clare1976