Hoka One Ones....

28 watchers
Apr 2021
1:55pm, 30 Apr 2021
4,567 posts
  •  
steve45
My Hokas are doing just fine; 500 miles and only slight wear on one heel which I cover with shoegoo. I reckon there's another four hundred or five hundred in them, no wear at all on uppers. I won't be falling into the trap of believing that 3-500 miles is the limit on trainers which is of course a ploy by manufacturers and their buddies! I've been running for 42 years and I've not had any serious running injuries caused by shoe issues.
My wife who does ultras swears by her Clifton 7.
Apr 2021
2:00pm, 30 Apr 2021
4,568 posts
  •  
steve45
Oops...on page 7 it's my wife (torey) writing ...she refers to her wife! I think we were both talking while we were contributing to the same thread but with only one of us logged in!
Feb 2022
6:15am, 12 Feb 2022
622 posts
  •  
NRGEE
i have osteoarthritis of left big toe( mild but painful). I ran half marathon in Brooks Glycerine and ended up with sesamoiditis( sore feet)- the half marathon was in Sept and haven't run since as toe too painful. Someone on my blog recomended Hoka shoes. I googled and found the Bondi 7 to suite my neutral style with plush cushioning. I went up a size and chose wide ladies- so size 8 wide. Tried them on in house and I could feel ankle slipping. Phoned shop and told to locklace. This helped- but wanted opinion from my podiatrist re fit ( I wear orthotics). Podiatrist said to go up to a 9 but said the info on the shoe description- he felt the shoe would help my arthritis. Tried to get a 9 wide( again podiatrist said as little toes curl outwards and keep getting corns)- but shop online only had 8.5 wide ladies. I managed to find a local shop that had an 8.5 and a 9 standard fit. Was told a standard mans was equivilant to a wide womens shoe. So I tried on both 8.5 and 9. Man in shop recommended a 9 and to use lace lock to tie them. Like to tie shoes in a double knot-so had to buy some longer laces