Groin strain?

1 watcher
Dec 2013
8:51pm, 26 Dec 2013
238 posts
  •  
LindsD
I've done myself a mischief, and I'm not sure whether it's a groin strain or what. So consequently I don't know what to do about it.It doesn't hurt when I run, perversely, but when I do certain movements at home. The pain is sometimes in my left groin, and sometimes on the outside of my thigh.

It hurts when I open or close my legs, so like moving the knee from the mid=line anywhere outside of that, iyswim.

I first noticed it after the GSR, when I couldn't lift my leg without lifting it with my arm but it went after a night's sleep. Now I have acute pain when moving my knee outwards.
Dec 2013
8:57pm, 26 Dec 2013
6,259 posts
  •  
Bazoaxe
Start thinking glute area.....thats been the cause of mt groin issues
Dec 2013
9:30pm, 27 Dec 2013
182 posts
  •  
oi you
Well, I'm not an expert, but I'll have a look if you like.

No. Oh well.
If it's painful enough to interfere with real life, get to your GP before too long. If it's just affecting running/other exercise then rest it for a while to see if it eases, then GP if it doesn't.
The alternative is go to Sports physio.
Dec 2013
4:02pm, 28 Dec 2013
242 posts
  •  
LindsD
Thank you! Strangely it doesn't interfere with running but it does with real life. Someone bumped into me on the tube today and wrenched it and I thought I was going to faint.

How do I find a good sports physio? My old one gave up.
Dec 2013
4:03pm, 28 Dec 2013
6,261 posts
  •  
Bazoaxe
I ignored my groin pain for too long, it didnt interfere with running, then it did, then I could barely walk.

Good physios like gold dust, best to ask for recommendations IMO
Dec 2013
4:51pm, 28 Dec 2013
244 posts
  •  
LindsD
Ah. Thanks. *starts looking for physio*
Dec 2013
11:26pm, 28 Dec 2013
184 posts
  •  
oi you