For the bored - Amir’s Marathons

17 watchers
Jul 2020
1:08pm, 13 Jul 2020
6,833 posts
  •  
paul the builder
I'm not a strava expert (although I did register to see what this bloke is claiming :-) ).
Why might he not sync that WW? Is that the whole "elapsed time" issue he's worked around there?
Jul 2020
1:13pm, 13 Jul 2020
11,500 posts
  •  
larkim
Not everyone is sufficiently au fait with the need / ability to connect strava to Garmin Connect I suppose.

Let's face it, if his stride length is really short, but he has been doing 4-5 hours of 50,000 steps per day he's probably acquired a decent level of stamina. A 6 hour marathon would fit about right with that level of accumulation, and match up with his stride length.

I'm sure, like others before, he's fooled himself into thinking he's doing somethng when he's not really, then publicised it and discovered the level of scrutiny means he has to either front it out or admit that what he thought he was doing was actually just a misunderstanding.

Plus the aim is laudable - raise funds. He's not trying to post a FKT to cross a continent or anything similar.
Jul 2020
1:44pm, 13 Jul 2020
4,711 posts
  •  
Windsor Wool
I'm really not sure PtB. It just opens up a series of other questions doesn't it, with elapsed time being the most obvious.

I'm sure you're right lark, he's having to front it out having got in a bit too deep. While I stopped short of saying well done, or you're a legend, my comment was genuine and very, very polite. To block someone just because they know what they are talking about makes it all the more disingenuous.