First ever group ride

2 watchers
Jun 2016
4:41pm, 3 Jun 2016
30,791 posts
  •  
Nellers
I've signed up to go out on a group ride tomorrow morning with the local informal cycling Facebook group. I've never done a group ride before. What do I need to know/do to survive it? I'm told the planned average speed is about 16mph and I know I can do that so it's not a fitness thing.

The obvious bits seem to me to be:
1) Don't swerve about or accelerate/brake suddenly
2) Take a couple of spare tubes and a pump so I don't sponge off anyone else's resources
3) Take reasonable turns on the front

Other than that what can you experts tell me that will help?
Jun 2016
4:55pm, 3 Jun 2016
4,944 posts
  •  
Battlecat
Don't overlap the wheel in front

If you see a hazard in front like a pothole point at it so the rider behind knows its there or if there's something you need to move out for (eg parked car) point away from it behind your back

If you know a car has come up behind you shout 'car back' so the rest of the group know it's there and may try to pass
Jun 2016
7:37pm, 3 Jun 2016
30,794 posts
  •  
Nellers
Thanks Catters.
Jun 2016
8:45pm, 3 Jun 2016
4,495 posts
  •  
Dai Bank
Don,t hit the front on the way out. Be careful 16mph average is fast, all cyclists lie about their fitness and the amount of riding they have done to get to their present level of fitness viz, I had a late night last night so I,ll be taking it steady, as they go to the front and wind it up. This will allow you to judge the pace setting.
Don,t look at the wheel you are following look at the riders back, adjust your speed by very small increments of pedalling, freewheeling or lifting your body into the wind and by just covering the brakes.

Have fun.
Jun 2016
9:04pm, 3 Jun 2016
30,795 posts
  •  
Nellers