Fat pad injury (knee)

1 watcher
Jul 2011
9:43am, 30 Jul 2011
8 posts
  •  
robbodj
I have injured the fat pad in my knee, wondered if anyone else has suffered with this. Getting impatient as have rested for nearly 3 weeks and havent seen much of an improvement. Anybody know a timescale for this type of injury to heal or has anyone got any advice. Have a race a 10k race a week on sunday and a half marathon in september and i am desperate to run them both but dont want to risk further injury. Any advice wud be greatly appreciated.
Aug 2011
8:54pm, 2 Aug 2011
8 posts
  •  
Krissie
I'm not an expert, but based on memory of having previously I recall that if it is just inflammed or irritated then it can settle with time and rest, but if it has become so inflammed that it has become 'impinged' in the joint then it may need surgery to trim back. I had surgery for fat pad impingement last year, I started to get pain through the back of my knee in February last year and any twisting movement caused intense pain. Everyone I saw thought it was cartilage, until I had an MRI which showed the fat pad impingement. I have read that taping, strenthening and other treatements have worked for many people, I tried these and ultrasound with a lot of improvement initially but the pain on twisting didn't resolve so surgery was recomended. I had the fat pad trimmed back last July, it was very sucessfull and I got back to running again quickly, and have managed to avoid any further problems by correcting my dirty heelstriking habit and an excellent strengthening program from the physio. Google 'fat pad impingement taping methods' to see if that helps. I also found cycling didn't aggrivate and kept me fit for the time I had off and the increased leg strength helped me recover from the surgery and get back quickly. Fingers crossed yours settles down quickly.
Aug 2011
10:27pm, 3 Aug 2011
9 posts
  •  
robbodj