Do orthotics work?

3 watchers
Dec 2013
5:55pm, 17 Dec 2013
1,591 posts
  •  
Drell
An interesting article from the Guardian: theguardian.com

Apparently it's not known how they work. If, in fact, they do (in general -- anecdotally, they appear to work for some people).
Dec 2013
7:17pm, 17 Dec 2013
342 posts
  •  
Johnny Panic
It's like the answer to, "do women wear socks?"; the answer is probably, "yes, sometimes".
Jan 2014
12:11pm, 2 Jan 2014
3 posts
  •  
bannyboy
When I first developed PF orthotics helped control the pain. I wore them in all my shoes - including slippers. But they didn't do anything to fix the issue. After years of stretching and orthotics, foot strengthening (following Eric Orton's regime for a while) seemed to have a much bigger affect. I wouldn't say cured - but definitely controlled.
Aug 2014
7:31pm, 27 Aug 2014
5,503 posts
  •  
martin K
the answer is YES they sure do, i have been wearing mine now for 10 yrs from Foot Mechanix in West Byfleet, Surrey
Aug 2014
8:34pm, 27 Aug 2014
956 posts
  •  
The Jogger
I had mine made in Canada from a mould, just starting back to running, very slowly but I am certainly using these to try and avoid the knee issues of the past, so far so ...........
Sep 2014
8:27am, 29 Sep 2014
92 posts
  •  
Arjin
I was perscribed orthotics for PF which helped clear it up. Unfortunatly, as my glutes were weak and my knee drifted in, causing me to over-pronate, the only thing that flexed when my foot was stopped from rolling was my achillies which soon started to really hurt and is now twice the size and full of scar material. Orthotics binned, on the road to recovery with the achillies and doing what I should have done from the beginning, strength work and correcting my running form.
Sep 2014
9:58am, 29 Sep 2014
4,022 posts
  •  
BaronessBL