Cardiovascular drift?

1 watcher
May 2020
5:55am, 9 May 2020
First-time poster!!
  •  
Rosohatica
Hello all. I am new to running and this forum. I am 39 years old guy who for over a decade did his recreation by mountain hiking on weekends and riding bicycle to work every day. Month ago I started running 5K three times a week and during this month I managed to change my average pace from 5:37 to 4:39. Quite an improvement - I am happy with it. However, in the last 10 runs I notice the same pattern in my heart rate. There is a steep increase between 6:00 and 6:30 min. Heart rate jumps from 147 bpm to 167 bpm. It happens during these 30 seconds. After that sudden jump the increase for the next 15 -20 minutes of running is gradual where I go from 167bpm to 180 bpm. Its pretty much consistent during the last ten runs. Is this normal and what could be causing it?
Best regards
May 2020
5:58am, 9 May 2020
2 posts
  •  
Rosohatica
Here is the graph how it looks like

photos.app.goo.gl
May 2020
6:00am, 9 May 2020
3 posts
  •  
Rosohatica
I forgot to mention that there is no change in pace during this steep increase in heart rate. I manage to keep the constant pace during the whole 5K run.
May 2020
6:41am, 9 May 2020
1,131 posts
  •  
puzzler
Welcome to fetch Rosohatica.

As you say it looks like fairly normal trace apart from that bump. When I see sudden jumps like that it’s usually a issue with the watch/HRM. But they don’t tend to be predictable like yours. Are you using optical HR on watch or a chest strap?
May 2020
7:01am, 9 May 2020
643 posts
  •  
Sam Jelfs
Hi, and welcome to fetch. Just to rule it out, are you running the same route every time, and is there anything at that point, a hill, busy road to cross, etc?
May 2020
8:40am, 9 May 2020
34,759 posts
  •  
HappyG(rrr)
Hi Roso. Welcome.

There is a separate HR thread I'll try and find a link. I'd agree with puzzler. My optical HR Garmin Vivoactive 3 does same. I find the chest strap more reliable.