can anyone please help a newbie

1 watcher
Apr 2012
9:37am, 16 Apr 2012
First-time poster!!
  •  
Digsby
Hi, as the thread title suggests I'm new to these parts and still not really sure what it's all about.
I'm taking part in my 1st ever marathon on Sunday and it's all a bit daunting at the moment. One of the main problems I'm trying to sort out (aswell as dragging my arse round 26.2 miles) is where my family can go to watch/support. I mentioned this to a friend who pointed me in the direction of 'fetch' and I ended up here.
Could someone give me a basic rundown of what it's all about? I've read a few posts about 'fetch groups' but I'm still not really any the wiser. Any help would be appreciated. Sorry for being so vague....
Apr 2012
9:52am, 16 Apr 2012
8,598 posts
  •  
Pootle
Fetch Point, mile 13/22. You can't miss it!

londonmarathonfetch22.webs.com
Apr 2012
9:54am, 16 Apr 2012
8,599 posts
  •  
Pootle
Also, if you don't want to send your nearest and dearest to a bunch of loud, drunken Fetch folk the opposite side of the road is a great place to see people as it is generally quite quiet. My husband picked me out from the masses at about the 13 mile point, just past the first set of showers :-)
Apr 2012
9:55am, 16 Apr 2012
41,155 posts
  •  
plodding hippo
its pretty hard to get around on martathon day
I would say a good place is AFTER canary wharf, baout 19.5 miles
its quiet there
Apr 2012
9:58am, 16 Apr 2012
8,600 posts
  •  
Pootle
Hmm, not if you want them to meet you at the finish though Hipps. Husband and my friends went to Canary Wharf after they saw me opposite FetchPoint, and whilst they saw me (I didn't see them that time) it was so rammed getting back on the DLR they got to the finish about an hour after I did :-/
Apr 2012
9:58am, 16 Apr 2012
1,039 posts
  •  
Spidey fun