Calf injury

6 watchers
Nov 2014
11:32am, 25 Nov 2014
First-time poster!!
  •  
Sailorsteve
Hi all, newbie here. Just noticed the window telling me that I "haven't contributed anything" so as well as being injured I felt like a drain on society too!
Starting week 2 recovery of L2 calf tear. 2 sessions of physio so far, next one Friday.

Fed up.
Nov 2014
12:51pm, 25 Nov 2014
13,665 posts
  •  
Derby Tup
Head up Steve. Walking is safe even on a badly torn calf. Get out and get some fresh air! Good luck with the recovery and don't rush running again until its properly recovered. A month off, then start slow walk run sessions is my advice. It worked for me after an injury when I had to be brought down off Ilkley Moor (to the pub ;-))
Nov 2014
5:32pm, 25 Nov 2014
2 posts
  •  
Sailorsteve
Cheers DT, I know you're right - and it could have been worse!
Yep, slowly, slowly catchy monkey etc. I've had a couple of lesser pulls over the years but nowt like this. Walking is awkward but biking is pain free. I'm resigned to another 3 weeks (minimum) without a run. Thanks again.
Nov 2014
5:37pm, 25 Nov 2014
3,034 posts
  •  
RevBarbaraG
I feel your pain..... I had a level 1 calf tear just before Christmas, which recurred a month later because I tried to do too much too soon. Plus not getting any treatment.

Has your physio got you doing the painful kneading the knot thing? My husband loved doing that.
Nov 2014
5:41pm, 25 Nov 2014
11,026 posts
  •  
colettedeann
that sounds painful steve - no advice - sorry - only sympathy x
Nov 2014
5:46pm, 25 Nov 2014
13,668 posts
  •  
Derby Tup
The classic problem with torn calves is after a week or ten days the pain subsides and it's so tempting to "try a little run just to test it" DONT is my advice. Do some balance work and slowly build up the strengthening. Don't be in a rush to stretch either ;-)
Nov 2014
9:22pm, 25 Nov 2014
3 posts
  •  
Sailorsteve
RevB-Yep, painful needing has 'brought the house down'; Sympathy is appreciated C.