Cadence / Stride Length ... Advice Needed

7 watchers
Jun 2015
7:57pm, 25 Jun 2015
106 posts
  •  
fazmo
I understand that I should be aiming for cadence of between 180 and 190 ...

When I train at a comfortable pace my cadence is generally 168.
When I race or train hard my cadence is 180, sometimes a bit more.

So to go faster I mostly just move my legs more quickly. Is this the best approach or should I train at 180 ish also? If I do that, then to go faster I just take longer steps! So do I want uniform stride length or uniform cadence?

I have been trying to pick up my training cadence over the last month. I can now run at training pace at 180 cadence, but its not getting any easier ... my legs are killing!

Thanks in advance ...
Jun 2015
8:16pm, 25 Jun 2015
639 posts
  •  
chunkywizard
I'm no expert, but I train and run at about 180 cadence. When you are running slower just take short steps, hence you will go slower. It feels a bit like shuffling at first but you get used to it.

HTH

CW
SPR
Jun 2015
9:24pm, 25 Jun 2015
20,334 posts
  •  
SPR
I don't think 168 is an issue at easy pace.

This is a good blog on cadence: scienceofrunning.com

Even if you are trying to increase it, killing your legs isn't the way forward.
Jun 2015
10:07pm, 25 Jun 2015
107 posts
  •  
fazmo
Thanks CW - it seems that you naturally run the way that I've been aiming for.

SPR, interesting blog. Focus on form rather than stats seems to be the message ... quite right when I consider my motives for this exercise I realise I want to be able to race faster so would benefit from better form (not overstriding) and maybe from having a naturally quick stride pattern.

I think I agree with you SPR ... 168 could be OK. I need to decide whether to continue the experiment ...
Jun 2015
11:14pm, 25 Jun 2015
1,547 posts
  •  
Canute