Breast Reduction

3 watchers
Jul 2012
12:18am, 29 Jul 2012
7 posts
  •  
GarageGirl
Just wondered if any Fetchies had experience of undergoing a breast reduction op ? I am booked for surgery in October. How long is the recovery before you can run again? I have started cycling in preparation for changing my activities until I heal. Any helpful advice would be much appreciated. Looking forward to having fabulous firm norks!
Aug 2012
2:30pm, 2 Aug 2012
1,718 posts
  •  
SusiesueH
'fabulous firm norks' excellent :) I have no personal experience and the only person I know who's had it done isn't a runner. But I wanted to say that, in her opinion, it was the best thing she ever did and has never looked back. Good luck :)
Aug 2012
2:33pm, 2 Aug 2012
5,456 posts
  •  
geordiegirl
I'm in same situation as SusiesueH - my cousin had it done & says its the best thing she's ever done, another cousin is waiting & hoping to be allowed it on NHS. they got my share.

Hope it goes well and you get some runners with experience along soon
Aug 2012
3:43pm, 2 Aug 2012
4,847 posts
  •  
RichHL
Have a (reduced) good luck bump.
Aug 2012
3:46pm, 2 Aug 2012
1,119 posts
  •  
AdminLiz
I had a reduction back in 2006, before I started running...as others have said...best thing I ever did!
Aug 2012
4:09pm, 2 Aug 2012
21,189 posts
  •  
Velociraptor
I have never had anyone come back after being referred for a breast reduction and say, "I wish I hadn't had that done."
Aug 2012
4:38pm, 4 Aug 2012
162 posts
  •  
Hellybob
I had one done on the NHS about 13 years ago. Certainly the best thing I ever did.
Aug 2012
12:05am, 8 Aug 2012
8 posts
  •  
TeacherGirl
Thanks for the words of encouragement. It's taken 20 years to get to this stage, and I am self-funding. Will report back after the op!
Aug 2012
11:39am, 25 Aug 2012
11 posts
  •  
Schmunkee
I had a breast reduction in 2001 and, as others have said, it was the best thing I could have done.