Welcome To Fetcheveryone

Our awesome training log doesn't hide its best features behind a paywall. Search thousands of events, get advice, play games, measure routes, and more! Join our friendly community of runners, cyclists, and swimmers.
Click here to get started
Already a Fetchie? Sign in here

Affects of gaining weight on running

4 watchers
Aug 2011
11:42am, 11 Aug 2011
294 posts
Alibob
I have been running on and off for the last 12 months with an "issue" with my leg. I think it's shin splints but sometimes it's there and some time's it's not.

Whilest Driving back from Plymouth to the Midlands I had a thought. What is the true impact of gaining weight on running? Does it encourage more injuy? Does buying new trainers to compensate for weight change help?

Im's sure you will all agree the thought of stopping running for a bit is an awful thought for a runner. But would their be any benefit to take time off to lose weight and then take up running. I appreciate it would probably help the injury but would stopping for a bit make sure that it didn't reoccure.

I haven't a clue. Any body else had the thought and tried it? Has it worked?

A
Aug 2011
12:08pm, 11 Aug 2011
4469 posts
Dvorak
If you did in fact lose the weight during the break, maybe. It would be important to substitute other forms of physical activity. I have had an enforced break from running and was mostly inactive for about three weeks, followed by (so far) four not-all-that-active weeks. Diet etc was much the same and I have put on enough weight to make running appreciably slower. So I reckon stopping running and dieting would have seen me stay a similar weight as it appears it was the activity (not exclusively running) that was keeping the weight fairly stable.

I did quite like not having the tight calves and odd niggles I had before: alas they seem to be returning with a bit of running. I reckon getting a bit of weight off would help that.
Aug 2011
1:22pm, 11 Aug 2011
3196 posts
mulbs